©  Photo:

Valdemars Castle

"Valdemar's Castle was built in 1639-44 by Christian IV - for his son, Count Valdemar Christian, from whom the castle takes its name.

But Valdemar Christian never benefited from his castle - he preferred to travel around Europe as a field marshal and never settled on Tåsinge.

During the Swedish Wars (1658-1660), Valdemar's Castle was occupied and badly damaged, and it was the naval hero Niels Juel who saved the castle from ruin. Niels Juel acquired the estate after his brilliant victory in the Battle of Køge Bay in 1677. With the prize money from the captured Swedish warships, he bought the crown's land and paid a significant amount out of his own pocket. At the same time, he bought the castle buildings.

After Niels Juel took over Valdemar's Castle, he initiated a major renovation and reconstruction in the Baroque style, which was the style of the time. Niels Juel's grandson, who bore the same name, lived in the castle from 1723 until his death in 1766. He commissioned the Holstein architect G.D. Tschierscke to create the beautiful castle complex, which still stands today with its stately gatehouses, the artificial lake in front of the castle, carriage and barn buildings along the lake, and the charming tea pavilion as a point de vue out by the beach.

The castle is not open to the public.